Spirit of Sister Dorothy Stang Award

The Spirit of Sister Dorothy Stang Award is given to faculty members, parish ministers, parishioners active in social justice ministry and graduating seniors in the Catholic high schools and parish youth ministry programs in the Archdiocese of Cincinnati. It is granted by the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur and the Archdiocese of Cincinnati Offices of Mission, Social Action, Youth and Young Adult Ministry and Evangelization and Catechesis.

"We celebrate and thank our Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur Ohio Province current and past missionaries for the gift of their lives to people in other countries and cultures around the world and for the reciprocal benefits they bring back to us on their return. As they say in Nigeria, 'To God be the glory.'" -- Sister Carol Wetli, SNDdeN

Purposes of the award are:

  • To keep alive the ministry and memory of Sister Dorothy Stang that included her solidarity with the poor, her care for the earth and her love for Jesus’ mission.
  • To encourage schools, parishes and members of our archdiocese to study/teach about Sister Dorothy and encourage others to follow in her footsteps by promoting global solidarity and cross cultural mission and ministry.
  • To honor teachers, principals, parish ministers and graduating high school seniors who exemplify the values of Sister Dorothy through their social justice ministry, service work, and teaching.

The winners of the 2023 Spirit of Sister Dorothy Stang School Award

Awardee School
Karen Emmerich Chaminade Julienne High School
Tabitha Mueller Mt. Notre Dame High Schol
Sofia DeJesus St. Ursula High School
Karleen Leibreich Archbishop McNicholas High School
Sarah Lins Lehman High School
Dennis Brun Archbishop Carroll High School
Meghan Shaughnessy St. Xavier High School
Noah Seng La Salle High School
Carina Arreaga Soto  Cristo Rey High School
Christina Dennler  Badin High School
Hudson Forrester Elder High School
Kat Roedig Sickinger Summit Country Day High School
Norman Rich Archbishop Alter High School
Anne Majka Ursuline Academy

















The winners of the 2023 Spirit of Sister Doroty Stang Parish Award

Awardee Parish
The Mosher Family St. Clare Parish
Maria and Philip Vanderwerker St. Francis Seraph Parish
Betty Cepluch Little Flower Parish
Kelly Bohrer Queen of Apostles Community
Carol and Albert Vonderhaar Good Shepherd Community
Brent Suter Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish
Fr. David Vincent St. Denis Parish